• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Proper Evaluation and keeping "HANDS OFF"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proper Evaluation and keeping "HANDS OFF"

I am still a newbie here and have much to learn. One thing I have recently learned that keeps popping up in my mind is proper evaluation and learning to keep my hands off the vehicle.

What I mean here is this. There are times when I have an issue, For Example; dew on the car, excess dust etc. I'd love to grab a Quick Detail Pad and some QD and get on it. While that might my first thought, sometimes it is best to just walk away.

Taking a swipe at morning dew with a Quick Deatail Pad and QD might sound good but all the dust from the night is in that dew as well.

I try to stay in the habit of QDing almost daily. But even keeping up on it like that, I find there are days when I had better either give it a wash or leave it alone. Proper evaluation is key here.

If you even suspect there is something on this finish that might scratch the surface and you don't have the time to wash it properly, WALK AWAY. leave it alone. I love keeping my truck looking sharp and if I even have a spot on it, it bugs me seriously. But keeping it this way is a high maintenance task and can't alays be successfully acheived. There are times when half done measures will actually set you back.

Again, I just wanted to put these thoughts out while I was thinking about it. I think it is important to be able to evaluate what is needed and if the time is not available to do it. Leave it alone until you can. It kills me. Bugs all the heck out of me. but it is best in the long run to learn when to walk away.