• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will the plane fly?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will the plane fly?

A plane is standing on runway that can move (some sort of band conveyer). The plane moves in one direction, while the conveyer moves in the opposite direction. This conveyer has a control system that tracks the plane speed and tunes the speed of the conveyer to be exactly the same (but in opposite direction).

The question is:

Will the plane take off or not? Will it be able to run up and take off?

This question is originally from a physics board and there is not a firm consensus regarding the ability to the plane to take off.
    Owner, Scott's Mobile Auto Detailing

I am no expert.... but here is my first thought, Seems to me the plane would be sitting still.... Wheels and conveyor would be moving but the the plane would be sitting there, right? So no sir over the wings = no lift. Or not?

For example... if you walk in the opposite direction of one of those moving sidewalks in the airport.... you can match the speed of the walkway, you are still walking but you are going no where.

scratch the above, I have re thought it

EDIT: now that I think about it a little more.... the plane may actually be be able to take off. Do the wheels have anything to do with it? The engine is pulling the plane through the air, no matter how fast the conveyor is moving the wheels would just continue to move faster(not the air speed, this the planes engine is going to control).

OK, I give I am getting a headache thinking about it. Sounds like a subject for Mythbusters!

Brandon

2007 Black Chevy Avalanche

My Albums: Avalanche
    Meguiars Online Acronyms - Meguiars Product List....