• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

NXT 2.0 Review

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NXT 2.0 Review

I've been a Meguiars user for about 15-16 years (primarily using the consumer line) and I detail my cars and the cars of other family members as a hobby (ie: I am not a pro).

I recently purchased NXT 2.0 (even though I had half a bottle of the original NXT) at home. This weekend I finally got a chance to put it to the test (on two cars). Here are my impressions:

The first thing I noticed off the bat is that it appears to have a thicker consistency than the original (maybe "creamier" is a better word). Same great smell.

I start by applying by hand (as I figured this would give me a better feel for it). Without a doubt it goes on smoother. Was able to quickly cover half of my hood and move on to the other half. Nice even coverage and putting on a "thin" layer seemed easier with 2.0.

I waited about a 1/2 hour for it to dry (probably dried quicker) but I just wanted to be 100% sure. I did the swipe test and wax appeared dry.

I started to remove the wax using two high quality MF towels. Once again, 2.0 seemed MUCH easier to remove than the original (not that the original was difficult - this is just easier). Before long, the entire car was done.

Waited 12 hours and re-waxed the car in the morning. Second coat was as easy as the first. I didn't take any pictures, but as far as shine is concerned, I didn't see a discernible difference from the original. The next test will be to see how long it lasts.

So to sum up here's how I think it stacked up to the original.

Ease of Application: Definite edge to 2.0.

Dry Time: About the same as the original.