• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

clear coat removed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• clear coat removed?

hi all, is it possible for me to have removed my 6 month old cars (civic) clear coat in the hood as it now has a lot of swirl marks after claying and clear wax application? (I may have applied too little QD lubricant and too much pressure on the clay and the MF towel for buffing the cleaner wax.)

some background: this is in relation to another post of mine on my first time to use megs claybar kit. Its my first time to wash, clay, cleaner wax and wax my civic but at first I was using the clay properly (i think). but when i saw there was some paint stains (needle head size) from paint jobs outside (color white), i noted it could be removed with the clay but with more pressure. i also applied more pressure on the MF towel when buffing the cleaner was as I wanted to remove the rain stains/watermarks. I am happy with the results but i noticed swirl marks on the hood. i can't feel it with my nails and they can only be seen with direct light to the hood. its really bothering me. i already accept it is swirl marks but im afraid i removed the clear coat. Is this possible? after one application?

my car is only 6 months old.

Re: clear coat removed?

I doubt your clear coat is gone.

Most likely just a soft paint.

Do you have any pic of the current state? Is it just the hood, or all over?
    2017 Subaru WRX Premium - WR Blue

Comment

There is no way you removed the clear... not even close. You could clay and use a wax/cleaner a few thousand times and not remove much clear.