• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

California Car Wash Regulations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California Car Wash Regulations

Hi everyone! I'm a full time college student working part time at an ice cream shop and struggling to pay bills. I've been looking into starting a mobile car wash in the north bay area. Not so much detailing, but preventative maintenance. I'm an Ohio native and was wondering if you could fill me in on the major hoops that I need to jump through with California's drought and green movement regulations being pretty harsh on car washes.

Where can I get products that are legal to rinse away and do not need to be recollected?

Does just my car wash soap need to be green, or do all my products, including wheel n tire cleaners?

What is a car washing license and how do I get one? How much do they cost?

What about insurance? I don't use a buffer or DA polisher at this point, and don't know if and how soon I will. My only powered equipment would be my wet/dry vac.

Is rinseless washing a reasonable way to go? If so, what product do you recommend? What are your feelings on ONR?

Thanks to everyone in advance for their help! I tired of my J-ust.O-ver.B-roke.

Re: California Car Wash Regulations

You should visit your local city hall they should give you most of this info. BTW ONR is a great product and should be in your arsenal IMO.

Comment

I found this in relation to a car washing certificate. This is a separate thing completely from a city business license. I'm rather amazed that I had not heard about this requirement sooner.

Comment