• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello - Newb to detailing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello - Newb to detailing

I've owned a self serve wash for about 5 years. Somehow I found myself interested in making some extra cash detailing. It gives me the opportunity to spend more time at my wash and make myself more available to customers.

Mainly I have very little experience and almost everything I know, I've learned online.

I've done about 15 details and put out a bunch of flyers with my low low prices to kick off my business. I've been getting 1 or 2 per week on average.

I've been making roughly 15 to 20 an hour so far which is ok. I'm goin to increase my prices when I start getting more work than I can deal with. I have another part time job and go to school as well so I haven't completely committed myself full time to detailing.

I'm learning as fast as I can. I've found a few mistakes I've been making. Overall my customers have been happy to ecstatic about my work, so I must be doing something right.

One problem I have is spending more time on a car than what I'm charging for. I find myself polishing rims when the customer hasn't paid for it. I have a hard time doing an ok job. Overall though I do interior and exterior in between 4 to 8 hours with just one wax.

I have a cheap da buffer. No rotary yet. I've been scared to get into removing swirls, etc... I'm guessing I need to be using professional products. I was using the detailer line stuff and a bunch of misc. **** I picked up here and there.

Any comments or advice for the newb would be very welcomed.

Re: Hello - Newb to detailing