• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to detailing - critique my method!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to detailing - critique my method!

Hey everyone,

Like the title states, I am new to world of detailing. I have a Brilliant Black (non metallic) 2010 Audi A4. I had no idea what I was getting into when I bought a black car. Well... I am here now.

I haven't really maintained the car's finish for the 1.5years that I have had it. It has spent most of its lifetime sitting outside. As such, there are now minor water stains on the finish. In addition, it has some light swirling.

The car has been washed/waxed regularly and clayed occasionally, although I have not done any extensive detailing.

The car is now going to be garaged most of the time. Now that the paint isn't going to be subjected to extreme conditions, I would like to restore it a bit.

What would you guys suggest as a "beginner's kit?" I am by no means going for a "show car shine." I just want a overall nicer finish. (Everything will be done by hand)

Here is what I have lined up:

Products I currently own:
    Gold Class Wash
    Gold Class Carnauba Plus Wax
    Meguiar's Clay
    Wash mitt
    Foam applicator pad
    Microfiber applicator pad
    Lots of Meguiar's MF cloths
    ScratchX 2.0
    Quick Detailer

Products I plan to purchase:
    Ultimate Compound
    Ultimate Polish
    Ultimate Liquid Wax
    Pack of two applicator pads
    Ultimate Detailing Spray

Plan of attack:
    1) Wash with Gold Class Wash + sheet water off
    2) Clay with Quick Detailer
    3) Ultimate Compound with foam applicator
    4) Ultimate Polish with foam applicator