• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Paint Restoration Kit Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paint Restoration Kit Question

I'm currently using the Paint Restoring kit and have a few questions. This is my first time detailing my car on my own.

Car info:
    2000 Toyota Celica, Red. It was last detailed by a professional in fall 2008.

Questions:
    1) I washed the car, twice actually (since I hadn't driven or moved it from garage since last time it was washed but wanted to use the shampoo included in the kit). I let it air dry because we have windows on all sides of the garage with a great breeze today. It was like being in the drying section of a car wash, but not limited to 30 seconds! There are a few water marks but is that a problem since I will clay and polish it? I don't actually have any good drying towels.

2) There are a good amount of swirlmarks and the paint is noticeably faded. However, after researching ultimate compound I'm a little worried about whether or not I should use it. From what I gather it's not something you want to use often but is every 3 years OK? I'm not looking to keep the car forever, just a few more years. It still looks really good for an 11 year old car - even before doing this.

3) I want to touch up some chips and dings. I've heard various opinions on how and when to do this. I can't wait a month as I'm moving this weekend. Would an OK approach be to clay the car, then use UC, then touch up paint the few areas this afternoon and then letting it dry over-night and then waxing tomorrow?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Paint Restoration Kit Question