• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ultimate Liquid Wax results

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ultimate Liquid Wax results

Let me begin by saying I'm no detailer....just someone who likes to keep his truck looking good and is here to learn. I've always used Meguiars Cleaner Wax, and decided to try the Ultimate Liquid Wax. I've never used a true 'liquid' wax before, so this was quite the learning experience. The Cleaner Wax has a much different consistency, but I'm sure you guys already knew that. When I finished, the truck had a really smooth and glossy finish, but the color underneath it did not seem to 'pop' like it did when I used the Cleaner Wax. My prep was the same as always.....wash with Meguiars Gold Class wash, dry with a combination of electric leaf blower and microfiber. Should I have done something different for the prep before using Ultimate Liquid Wax versus the Cleaner Wax?

Re: Ultimate Liquid Wax results

Maybe next time you may want to clay, and polish with Ultimate Polish before applying Ultimate wax.

Comment

No, you're not doing anything wrong, briarpatch. The cleaner wax has polishing oils as well as carnauba in it which the other does not. UW is just a sealant, not a polish or carnauba wax. So, what was happening was that you were using one product that was polishing and leaving carnauba behind, two things that gave you that pop, as well as leaving synthetic protection, but UW was only giving you the synthetic protection alone. You could put UW over CW after it cures, though, or go through dedicated claying and polishing steps for UW.
      Non-Garaged Daily Driver, DAMF System + M101, Carnauba Finish Enthusiast