• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Swirl Removal and Questions on the Process

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swirl Removal and Questions on the Process

Hey guys, I am still learning on my orbital buffer. My most recent work can be seen here...

We encourage MOL members to show off their latest before & after results. We also welcome "Work in Progress" Threads. For Enthusiasts or Professional Detailers

The paint was VERY good so at best I used Mag's Cleaner Wax.

I have a few questions.

When working with a car that has swirls, is it considered ok to go right to Swirl remover 2.0, or start higher on the "cut" rating and work down.

The harshest I think Maguire's has is Ultimate compund but I do not have a car that is that bad. I do not have pics but I am basically trying to get my "Flow" or Process down when working with more neglected paint.

Also when attempting to take swirls out is my thought process correct.....

Wash/Dry
    Clay
    Wash/Dry
    Swirl X 2.0
    Cleaner Wax
    #7 Show Glaze
    NXT Nano Wax 2.0
    Ultimate Quick Detailer

(this is abbreviated but this is the basic picture, but I was wondering IF I need to do a specific POLISH vs just Swirl remover and a Cleaner Wax).

Re: Swirl Removal and Questions on the Process

If you are going to use something like Swirl Remover, or SwirlX, etc, there is no need to follow it up with a Cleaner/Wax. You can go:

Wash
    Clay
    SwirlX
    Wax
    Wax
    2017 Subaru WRX Premium - WR Blue

Comment

Originally posted by BlackScreaminMachine View Post

When working with a car that has swirls, is it considered ok to go right to Swirl remover 2.0, or start higher on the "cut" rating and work down.