• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Meguiar's equiv to Chemical Guys JetSeal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Meguiar's equiv to Chemical Guys JetSeal?

Hi. Novice here. I get a good discount on Meguiar's products and Chemical Guys JetSeal sealant has been recommended to me for a glass application (said its also good on my paint). Is there an equivalent here?

Re: Meguiar's equiv to Chemical Guys JetSeal?

Welcome to MOL.

I believe jet seal is a paint sealant. With Meguiar's you have a few options: Ultimate Wax (recently reformulated), M21 (NXT is the consumer version) and the most recent Ultimate Fast Finish. UFF will last the longest out of these.
    99 Grand Prix
    02 Camaro SS

Comment

Thanks. I wondered about Ultimate Wax, but saw a demonstration on Youtube that really... well, it wasn't exactly awe inspiring. The conclusion was that it was nowhere near as good as Rain-X (and I dislike Rain-X).

Basically I picked up a cheap Porter Cable dual action ($90 Canadian... so like $72 USD) and I'm now shopping for product to use with it. I've never detailed a car before. I recently bought a 2015 Tesla Model S over the Internet and when it arrived I was surprised at how poor condition the paint was. A *lot* of minor and not-so-minor scratches, as well as rock chips, which I realize I can't just buff out. I don't notice "swirl marks" that everyone goes on about. I took it to a body shop and they said most of the issues would polish out but they wanted $500. I'm the type that likes to DIY (yes, I bought a Tesla but I could only afford it because I'm a cheapass *@#!$$). I found the DA, so now I'm committed

But I know only what I've been reading the past couple of days.