• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anybody familiar with the Harbor Freight DA?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody familiar with the Harbor Freight DA?

The weather is getting nice down here in Georgia, so I think it's time to pull the Mustang out of the garage and set to detailing her! I've never used a true DA before (I'm graduating up from a DA Power System), so I want to make sure all my ducks are in a row before I get on it. Thank you guys!
    2014 Mustang GT 6-Speed Manual

Re: Anybody familiar with the Harbor Freight DA?

There's been a lot of discussion of the HF DA on other forums. Basically it's a decent machine for the cost, with adequate power. Weak points noted are that the grease used in the gear drive is poor quality and an insufficient amount and the backing plate is worthless. If you already have an assortment of 4" pads for your D/A system, you can get a Meguiar's matching backing plate and use them. As with most other HF stuff, you get what you pay for. It's a usable machine, but far short of the premium polishers. Try and stay with smaller, thinner pads, like the Meguiar's 5 inch discs for best results.

Bill

Comment

Thanks Bill. I've got a good backing plate and pads. How are the OPMs compared to other DAs?

Comment

You might have to do some searching, but IIRC, revs are about equal to a GG polisher, about 1/2 step higher than a P-C.

Bill

Comment

I use the HF dual action. The backing plate and pads aren't good. The pads get chewed up by the backing plate because they don't have enough Velcro pad. it's good enough if you get a Meguiars backing plate and pads.

Comment