• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wet Sanding Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wet Sanding Advice

Hi everyone, I need some advice on wet sanding, Its something I've never done before but I have an extra door that I intend to practice on first before attempting to work on my vehicle. The paint on my vehicle (shown below) has reflections that are blurred (went over it with a DA and UC but that does nothing to it) and Mr. Stoops suggested to try 3000 grit sanding since the car was previously sanded and buffed by someone else. I initially intended to go about this wet sanding by hand (since I dont have access to air da's) and compounding with my G110v2, but then today I read up some more on it and saw that you can use the G110v2 to dampsand and this would be safer than doing it by hand.

These are my questions:

What would I need for my G110v2 to damp sand and what speed to use?
    Any tips for a newbie to damp sanding? (I looked at some of the meguiars videos online like Ammo's one on wet sanding)
    Is the technique far different compared to say the technique to polish?
    And finally I've always thought that factory paint should never be wet sanded, but today I came across a thread where someone dampsanded factory using 1500grit to get out orange peel. Is that even safe?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Re: Wet Sanding Advice

That does look rather matte. It doesn't look right at all.
    Is it like that everywhere on the car or just the hood?
    Is there any inconspicuous spot to test like door jambs, under the hood or trunk with the same degree of finish?