• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cutting strength? Newbie here, going to give the products a whirl!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting strength? Newbie here, going to give the products a whirl!

Sorry, Newb here! Wife got a 2014 Kia SUV (BLACK). I looked it over and (sorry, no pics) it's got some swirls here and there, some rougher scratches (don't really catch my fingernail on them), and just a few scratches that I barely catch my fingernail on. So I got 3 problems. Swirls, light to medium scratches, and heavy medium scratches. I have a WEN 10" polisher, that I bought from Wally World. I read good reviews on it and it was only 40 bucks (buffer, case, tons of bonnets, etc.)! So thats my ride.

So from what I've read and seen, the Meguiar's product line that I will be using, in order of 'abrasiveness or 'cut' will be as follows. PLEASE CORRECT ME if I am wrong. I plan to treat the worst area's to the Ultimate Compound (UC). I plan to treat the 2nd areas to Scratch X 2.0. Then do the entire car with UP.. It's my understanding from what I've read that the Meguiar's products 'cut' most from 'Ultimate Compound, to Scratch X, to Ultimate Polish. After all that, I will wax with probably Ultimate Wax!

I realize the polisher is sub standard, but my question to the forum is .. is my thinking right on which products to use? Am I over thnking the whole deal? Would just one product cover my project? Just looking for a little insite before I start this project!

Thanks!

Re: Cutting strength? Newbie here, going to give the products a whirl!

You have the order of aggressiveness correct.