• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

3m Egg Pad and M09... on a trailer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3m Egg Pad and M09... on a trailer

So All i have at my disposal is a rotary buffer, and a 3m pad like this

Give your car, truck or SUV a lasting shine that everyone will notice by ordering the highest-quality exterior care products and using our free knowledge.

Im polishing a fairly oxided racecar trailer and its black. i removed all the decals already. so now i have to get it looking right. this is my first time with a rotary (1800rpm dewalt) ive always used Forced rotation polisher, but the dewalt is all i have right now.

I wasnt sure if the paint was single stage or powder coat so i went ahead and soaked it with 2-3 coats of M07. (its soaking right now actually) and the rag did turn quite black. not sure if its paint or oxidation but i figured it wouldnt hurt to put it on. i am sure that regardless of the type of paint its not clearcoated

anyways, im to the polishing phase now to get out the swirls and i remembered the 9 was also a mild cleaner with very little abrasion, but after reading some about 9 im wondering if i need to take it back and get 80.. or something else. there isnt much paint over the aluminum, so i have to go easy, so i like that 9 is DAT.

any suggestings for me? should i maybe go get a different foam pad? i do have a air powered DA but i wasn't trying to get into hearing all that noise honestly. LOL.

(edit) looking through supplies i do have some 3m machine polish as well.

Re: 3m Egg Pad and M09... on a trailer