• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

High Speed Buffing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Speed Buffing

I am just learning how to use a high speed makita buffer. What pads do I start and end with when polishing and waxing?

I polished my new mustang by hand and want to move onto usingmy new Makita?

Hey Bluemule and Welcome to Meguiar's Online!

If this your first time using the rotary, the best advise is start by doing a lot of research and reading on Meguiar's Online on how to use it. Then, watch the Meguiar's Video " How to Remove Paint Defects" which explains the use of the rotary buffer. A rotary buffer is an awesome tool. But it is one that must be practiced with first as a mistake with it, could do a lot of damage to the paint, and very quickly.

It is a good idea to first try the rotary on something you do not care about. Another idea, is to visit the local junk yard and pick up a decent hood or panel to practice on.

As for products to use:

1. W-64 6.5" Rotary Backing Plate for the 6.5" pads (though the Makita comes with a plate designed for 8" pads, it is much easier to learn to use the rotary with the smaller pads.)

2. You will need W-8006 Polishing Pads and a W-9006 Finishing Pads. Later on, you can get into the W-7006 Cutting Pads and W-4000 Wool Pads. But for now, stick with the Polishing and Finishing Pads.

3. #83 Dual Action Cleaner Polish, #80 Speed Glaze, and #82 Swirl Free Polish. These are the main ones I use for the majority of situations.

The above products will definitely get you started!