• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does this plan make sense for detailing my daily driver and a "garage queen"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does this plan make sense for detailing my daily driver and a "garage queen"

I am fairly new at this but have spent the last few months reading as much as I could find and watching videos on this and other sites. I have 2 cars that I am looking to detail and I would like to get some expert opinions on my plan of attack.

2001 Black Lexus LS430 – Daily Driver
    Hood, roof, and trunk just repainted (very poorly) and the other panels are original paint.
    Car is currently in a shop for major paint correction on the re-spray and overall detailing. Car should be swirl free when I get it back, but has some areas that might not be fully correctable. I can probably live with that for my daily driver, but I want it to look as good as possible. If it really starts to bother me, I will have to get the whole thing repainted, which is way more money than I want to spend.

Here is my plan for this vehicle to maintain the finish at the high level I expect it to have when I get it back from the shop.

Routine cleaning with Meguiar’s Wash and Wax or Ultima Waterless Wash, depending on how dirty and weather conditions. I have a microfiber covered sponge for the Wash and Wax (two buckets) or microfiber towels for the Waterless wash.

Monthly waxing with Ultimate Wax followed by Ultimate Quick Detailer. The heat and (prior to this year) rain in Houston seems to take away the wax pretty quickly, so I try to wax every month or 2.