• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Meguairs G220 (220v) - Changing the Carbon Brushes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Meguairs G220 (220v) - Changing the Carbon Brushes

Seems that a few of the EU and Asian members were looking for carbon brushes and also a "how to" in changing them. So I got some free time today and decided to help out the members here.

Been looking around for alternatives for the carbon brush and managed to source them locally. Equivalent to the original ones (dimension wise) but not 100% sure on the composition of the carbon though. -

Caveat: I am not a trained electrician so use this as a reference only. I am not going to be responsible for any damaged caused at your side.

Wished we had a Meguiar's service center here in Malaysia.

Difficulty Level: Basic electrical knowledge

Time Required: 15 Minutes or so.

Things you need.

1. Phillips screwdriver
    2. Some sandpaper (1000grit)
    3. Carbon Brush - BOSCH Part No: 1.607.014.145 (order no: 1.607.031.204)
    (there are other makers of brushes out there [dewalt,hitachi,makita] but I only managed to source them from Bosch Repair Centre - nearest to me)

Unplug the cord from the power outlet.

Step 1: Remove the screw near the speed control knob. ( I used an impact driver (Bosch) to remove - easier and faster)

Slowly pull out the cover.

Reveals this.

Step 2: Locate the holder for the carbon brushes. Its secured with two Phillip screws.

Unscrew them one side at a time. (take pictures if you are unsure of the location/placement of wires)