• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help please- G110V2 and misc. questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help please- G110V2 and misc. questions

Hi. I hope someone out there can make some suggestions for my situations. I would greatly appreciate it!

I recently purchased a Meguiar's G110V2. I have no experience with it. Years ago I used a Black and Decker random orbit at times. Other than that I have always done most things by hand. The pads I purchased for the G110V2 are the Soft Buff 2.0 polishing and finishing pads... yellow and black pads. Is it critical to "prime" a pad before use? Should I lightly mist the pads with Quick Detailer or something else before I apply products like Swirl X, Ultimate Compound, a pure polish, or wax? I've seen some suggest that, but I'm not sure what to do in each case. I have some Quick Detailer and also some Ultimate Detailer. I am concerned that the "quick detailer type sprays" may not be appropriate and may possibly work against some products like Ultimate Compound, Swirl-X, etc. Can I just take a dry pad, squirt an X pattern of product on the pad and go to work? Please let me know as much as you can. Thanks!

I plan to work on 3 cars in the near future. One is a blue Chevy Cobalt. I will wash and clay it first. I looked at the car and I saw it does have a fair amount of swirl marks in it. I have Siwrl-X, Scratch X 2.0, and Ultimate Compound at my disposal. At this point in time I only have experience using Scratch X 2.0. Maybe I should have purchased a different product like...

M83 Dual Action Cleaner Polish (M8332)
    M80 Speed Glaze (M8032)
    M82 Swirl Free Polish (M8232)

or something else? What do you think???