• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A pretty big weekend project...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A pretty big weekend project...

Hey guys!
    I'm new to the Meguiars board but not that new to their products. I've mostly used their interior stuff.

This weekend, I have a pretty big project with my car. I'm going to wash and strip the wax from my car, clay it .. fix a couple paint chips, then polish and wax it. So I have a few questions.

I have everything I need to wash, clay (mequiar's clay or course) and repair the chips... my questions come AFTER that.

After I repair my chips and wet sand, I have another brand of rubbing compound that I'm familiar with, nothing against Meguiars, I just have lots of experience with the other.... Anyway, so after I've repaired, wet sanded and rubbed down the repaired area... I need to know the next product to use. I have some buffing swirls I'd like to remove (body shop got carried away) and I'd like to use the most protective wax Meguiars has out. I'll be using a DA Buffer, and I'd also like to know which pads to use with what applications...as far as polishing and waxing goes.

It doesn't matter whether it is Consumer or Professional Line becuase I have places that sell both relatively close to me. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Edit: My mirrors, and parts of my doors, have this black plastic matte type finish... What should I use on them? They're not suppose to be super glossy, I mainly just want to protect them from fading.

Re: A pretty big weekend project...

Welcome to Meguiars Online!!
    I would use Meguiars Ultimate Compound or Swirl X.
    Then Seal it all up the Meguairs NXT Generation Tech Wax 2.0!!