• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to remove dirt from exhaust tips?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to remove dirt from exhaust tips?

I have no knowledge regarding the stainless steel polishing.

What do you guys use to clean those "black stuff" which laminated to the exhuast tips? I bought a small bottle of the Meguiar's All Metal Polish (M-2805) today and it seemed that the dirts are really stubborn to be polished.

Did I buy the wrong polish?

Note: The NXT metal polysh is still unavailable in Canada.

Please advise and thanks.

Maybe you could try using some clay? I've had success with this before. However, use some old clay as it will be useless once you are done.
    Chris

"Once a Meguiar's user...always a Meguiar's user!"

1994 Accord

Comment

is it dirt? or exhaust "stuff" like smog and combustion residues?

i start polishing an used stainless steel muffler with this polish applied with a terry cloth

but the muffler was also scratched in some parts so i sand it and then polish it using the same polish and a wool pad on a rotary buffer. Inside the tip i use a fine metal sand paper with water, dry and then polish with the same polisher and terry cloth.

The muffler i'm installing have a kind of cap so the inside tip needs to be clean and for me this is the best way to keep it clean. I don't use Meg metal polishes 'cause i can't find them

Hope this helps

Ahmed
      Zitosonic Detailing Spot

Comment

is it dirt? or exhaust "stuff" like smog and combustion residues?