• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

remove wet sanding marks with ScratchX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• remove wet sanding marks with ScratchX

Hey all. I've never done this before but I plan on filling in two scratches on my rear bumper with the factory touch-up paint then masking off the surrounding area (around the scratches) and lightly leveling them out with Meguiars unigrit 3000 grit paper.

My main question is will I be able to remove the marks from the 3000 grit paper by hand using Meguiars Scratch X?

Thanks!

Re: remove wet sanding marks with ScratchX

If you rub with enough applications you should be able to, I've done this as a demonstration at our Thursday Night "Open Garage" events.

Took a long time and a lot of ScratchX applications.

It would be much, much faster to use M105

The sanding marks will come out of the touch-up paint pretty easily but it will usually take some effort to get them out of the clear coat.

You can try applying some thin tape onto the paint surrounding the touch-up paint so that you put less scratches into the surrounding paint.

Mike Phillips
    760-515-0444
    showcargarage@gmail.com

"Find something you like and use it often"

Comment

Originally posted by Mike Phillips View Post
      It would be much, much faster to use M105

Check out this little test I did... M105 by hand vs 2500 grit wetsanding marks
      Scott

Comment

wow guys, thanks for the speedy replies! I may have to order some M105 to use in place of scratchX. Any suggestions on where to order some M105 and unigrit 3000 sandpaper (trying to combine orders to save shipping)? I believe a 12oz. sampler of the M105 will do the job with plenty to spare.