• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help removing light scratches with a DA?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help removing light scratches with a DA?

Hi,

I'm a little new to detailing...

My car has some light scratches that I'd like to try and fix. If I drag a fingernail across one, it feels slightly rough, but the nail doesn't catch. (I did use Scratch X, by hand, and saw a small improvement.)

The car has a clear coat, and is a grayish blue color.

I've searched around the forum and read a few threads, so here's what I'm thinking so far:

- Get a Porter Cable 7424 or similar, and some 8006 and 9006 pads.

- Try some Scratch X on the 9006 pad. If that's not enough...

- Try Meguiars #80 on an 9006 or 8006 pad, and follow up with Scratch X on the 9006 pad (necessary?).

Finish with a good wax.

Does that sound reasonable? I haven't bought anything yet, so other equipment suggestions, as well as a place to buy, are welcome. Thanks for any advice!

Re: Help removing light scratches with a DA?

Welcome to Meguiar's Online!

What you've outlined for a process is exactly what Meguiar's teaches and that's

"Use the least aggressive product to get the job done"

That said, the finishing pad is so gentle that when used on most clear coat paints it's not going to be aggressive enough to make a dent in the scratches.

If you want to follow the "use the least aggressive product" philosophy then you can try using the finishing pad with the ScratchX but chances are you're going to want to start with ScratchX with our W-8006 polishing pad and even that is a very light or non-aggressive approach.