• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Please explain why so many hours to detail - Clear Coat Failure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please explain why so many hours to detail - Clear Coat Failure

Hi,
    I am a newbie here, just bought a PC 7424 and pad kit. Hasn't arrived yet, just bought it online.

I'm restoring a 1985 Volvo (silver) 245 wagon that's pretty bad in places. To keep it short, here are my two newbie questions:

1- Why/how can it take 9 - 20+ hours to detail a car? Specifically, after you wash, use a clay kit, tape and complete preparations of the paint, I am trying to figure how much time the machine is actually running?

2- Can someone please give me examples of something taking several hours to do. For example, I can't see a hood of a car taking more than 15 minutes for one product and another 15 for a second product using a machine. That's 30 minutes for the hood, 30 for the roof, 30 for the trunk, 1 hour per side. That's 3.5 hours.

Again, I am a newbie, and I am sure I am wrong, but would love to know why. It seems like any more time with the machine running would wear the paint down to nothing.

Please educate me, and if there were a class near Dallas Texas I would love to be in it.

Thanks!

Jamie

Re: Please explain why so many hours to detail

Welcome to MOL!