• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Short path to getting started?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Short path to getting started?

Hi all, I am new here and new to this. I am in the process of repainting my 91 Miata with the factory color red in SS PPG Omni. Its not a show car, and its my first attempt. Body work is coming along nicely and I am nearing the stage of shooting the color. I know I will be wet sanding and polishing. The wet sanding, I think is pretty well covered. Its the polishing that scares me. From what I've read here, the best machine is a rotary. But maybe the best for a beginner is the PC with the smaller pads. It sounds like the PC can do the job, it will just take longer, which is fine by me. I'ld rather spend more time polishing than sanding and respraying. And I'ld like to have the PC in the toolbox anyway.

SO my question is: what do I need in way of chemicals and pads to do the polishing without a rotary unit?

BTW, I have the 'removing paint defects' video but haven't studied it all yet.

thanks
    Dave

Re: Short path to getting started?

Hi Dave,

Welcome to Meguiar's Online!

While there is an occasional post here and there about removing sanding marks with a dual action polisher, (PC/G100), the tool that you really need is the rotary buffer. Meguiar's doesn't recommend using the PC for removing sanding marks and thus we don't have any recommended products and procedures.

Using a rotary buffer to remove sanding marks is a lot of work, we don't want to scare you away from the procedure but we do want to be upfront at the start.