• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Nissan Altima Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nissan Altima Questions

Hi guys and gals,

Im new around here, but am finding this place to be a virtual gold mine of knowledge and am enjoying it thoroughly. Im also new to detailing on any level above washing and waxing by hand. I have ordered a PC and Rotary (for later when I feel up to it) and have ordered Mikes video about the PC.

With that being said, I would like to get some input about what is going to be my first major detailing make over, its my 2002 Nissan Altima 3.5SE in Super Black. The paint has lots of etching from water drops on the usuall spots, the roof, the hood and the trunk. The bumper is the worst part with lots of etching from bug guts and water, along with pitting from road debris and some chips from rocks, Im not sure what results I can get on that piece but the rest looks relatively easy to repair when I am armed with some of Mikes knowledge of the PC system.

My real questions that Im here to find help with are the following:

What type of paint does the Nissan Altima have? Is there any considerations that I should have, such as with a Miata?

What products do you recommend I utilize with this project in order to get the best results using my PC polisher?

Thanks in advance for any help that you guys can offer.

-Matt
    2006 Jeep Wrangler X

Re: Nissan Altima Questions

to know what kind of paint, grab an applicator or white terry cloth towel an pour some paint cleaner on it. if it starts to turn black, your paint is single stage and if it doesn't, you have a clear coat.