• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Polishing Over Wax

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polishing Over Wax

If my car has a coat of wax on it and if i polish over it, do the oils still get into the paint? Using #9
    Last edited by Lynx131; May 8, 2004, 06:42 PM.

Yes, because #9 will remove the wax.

Eric
    Talk it over folks. Communication is the key.

--Jerry Springer

Comment

but what about a regular polish, like Show Car Glaze, Or Deep Crystal Polish?

Comment

I am by no means an expert with the meguiars line but from my experiances with other glazes you wouldnt be getting any benifits from it when putting it over the wax and it wouldnt last very long at all maybe till it gets wet again.

Polish is best when on the paint and then topped for added durability other than that to me its a waste of product and time

Comment

Hey,

Putting a pure polish (#3, #5, #7, #81) over top of a wax may increase the gloss, but it will not last very long. As DevilDog said, it would be better to put the wax over the pure polish.

As for #9 Swirl Remover, it would remove the wax.

Tim
          Tim Lingor's Product Reviews

Comment

Originally posted by 2hotford
            Hey,

Putting a pure polish (#3, #5, #7, #81) over top of a wax may increase the gloss, but it will not last very long. As DevilDog said, it would be better to put the wax over the pure polish.

As for #9 Swirl Remover, it would remove the wax.

Tim
            Now If it were a show car going on display you might try a polish over the wax... 2hotford has listed the polishes.

Wouldn't you?
            Brandon

2007 Black Chevy Avalanche

My Albums: Avalanche